Altaf Hussain  English News  Urdu News  Sindhi News  Photo Gallery
International Media Inquiries
+44 20 3371 1290
+1 909 273 6068
[email protected]
 Events  Blogs  Fikri Nishist  Study Circle  Songs  Videos Gallery
 Manifesto 2013  Philosophy  Poetry  Online Units  Media Corner  RAIDS/ARRESTS
 About MQM  Social Media  Pakistan Maps  Education  Links  Poll
 Web TV  Feedback  KKF  Contact Us        
Media corner ( What's going on in Media about MQM )

MQM leaders file nomination papers,The News International

 Date: 3/28/2013   Views:7074    Source: The News International

Several politicians, including those belonging to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), filed their nomination papers on Wednesday to contest elections to national and provincial assembly seats.

The MQM leaders were Dr Farooq Sattar, Khushbakht Shujaat, Waseem Akhtar, Abdur Rauf Siddiqui, Faisal Sabzwari, Nadeem Gabol, Kunwar Khalid Younus, Sohail Mansoor and Ashfaq Mangi.

Sattar filed his papers for a National Assembly constituency, NA-249, while Shujaat and Mansoor submitted their papers for NA-250.

Sabzwari will contest for NA-253, and Gabol will be in the run for NA-246 and NA-248.

Younus filed his nomination papers for NA-245 and NA-250. Siddiqui will contest elections to NA-242 and PS-113 and PS-114, while Akhtar will be in the run for PS-116. Mangi filed his papers for PS-119.

PPP leader Yousuf Naz filed their nomination papers for NA-249 and PS-110, and PTI leader Essa Khan will run for PS-93.

As many as 150 candidates, including independents, filed their nomination papers with returning officers of all the five districts of the city.

More than 400 candidates have filed nomination papers since March 24 when the exercise began. The process will continue till March 29.